YALSA Reveals Finalists for Morris Award

Five debut YA authors are in the running for the 2021 Morris Award.

The buildup to the 2021 Youth Media Awards (YMA) continues as YALSA announced the five finalists for the William C. Morris Debut Award, which is given each year to a book published by a first-time author writing for teens “and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.”

The 2021 finalists are:

Black Girl Unlimited: The Remarkable Story of a Teenage Wizard by Echo Brown

The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

If These Wings Could Fly by Kyrie McCauley

It Sounded Better in My Head by Nina Kenwood

Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañez

The winner of the Morris Award will be announced during the virtual YMA ceremony on January 25.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing