Heartsong’s Missing Foal

Jolly Fish Pr. (Unicorns of the Secret Stable: Bk. 1). Jan. 2020. 72p. pap. $4.99. ISBN 9781631633928.
Gr 1-4–Sisters Iris and Ruby are descendants of Unicorn Guardians, protectors of unicorns who live in the Enchanted Realm. As the only people who still remember unicorns, Iris and Ruby are the sole caretakers of the magical beasts. When pregnant unicorn Heartsong disappears, the girls enter the Fairy Forest to try to find her and her new baby. In this first installment of a new fantasy series, young readers are gently introduced to a new world and its magic system. The book starts with a map and short backstory of the Unicorn Guardians, making it more accessible to first-time fantasy readers. The story is very fast paced and includes black-and-white illustrations throughout its four chapters. This series debut is nothing extraordinary, but it’s a good remedy for readers who can’t get enough of Daisy Meadows’s “Rainbow Magic” or Alexa Pearl’s “Tales of Sasha” series.
VERDICT Die-hard unicorn fans’ hearts will sing.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing