FICTION

The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse

256p. Algonquin. Apr. 2016. Tr $16.95. ISBN 9781616205058.
COPY ISBN
RedReviewStarGr 4–6—In this read-alike to Lois Lowry's The Giver, Shannon Hale's Princess Academy (Bloomsbury, 2005), and the Pixar film Inside Out, Princess Jeniah has just been named Queen Ascendant in a land where everyone is always happy. Her dying mother tells her of an ancient warning: if any royal enters the foreboding Dreadwillow Carse, the Monarchy will fall. Meanwhile, Aon, a local villager, visits the Carse regularly, finding it a balm for the sadness and brokenness that she alone can feel. The girls form a partnership that becomes a powerful friendship: Jeniah seeks knowledge of the Carse, and Aon pines for the return of her father, recently spirited away by the mysterious Crimson Hoods. The Carse, they gradually learn, has a nefarious secret. Jeniah is eventually faced with a morally complicated decision that will test her loyalties and affect the future happiness of her kingdom. Chapters alternate among points of view, creating suspenseful cliff-hangers. Descriptive language abounds ("viscous ponds the color of tar burbled"), and an enigmatic tutor provides a venue for reflections on magic, power, and choice. The inclusion of diverse characters enhances the story: Jeniah and her mother are described as dark-skinned, and a royal petitioner casually seeks relationship advice for his same-sex romance.
VERDICT A thoughtful, atmospheric fairy tale that tackles the subtleties of ethics and emotions.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.
Sorry !!! Your comment is not submited properly Or you left some fields empty. Please check with your admin


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?