We Need Diverse Books Announces 2024 Walter Award Winners

Remember Us by Jacqueline Woodson and Saints of the Household by Ari Tison were honored with the awards in the younger reader and teen category, respectively.

We Need Diverse Books has announced the winners of the ninth annual Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children’s Literature. The Walters are awarded in two categories: teen (age 13-18) and younger readers (age 9-13).


The 2024 winners of the Walter Awards are:

Younger Readers 

Remember Us by Jacqueline Woodson

Younger Readers Honor Book

Grounded by Aisha Saeed, Huda Al-Marashi, Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow, and S.K. Ali



Saints of the Household by Ari Tison

Teen Honor Book

All the Fighting Parts by Hannah V. Sawyerr

The 2024 Walter Awards ceremony is tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, March 13, 2024 in Washington, D.C. Young People’s Poet Laureate and National Book Award-winning author Elizabeth Acevedo will serve as moderator for the event, which will include a panel discussion with the winners and honorees, followed by a Q&A.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing