BCALA and SLJ Announce 2023 Children and YA Literary Award Winners

Star Child by Ibi Zoboi and Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas are among the winners of the annual awards that honor outstanding children's and YA books by African American authors.

BCALA 2023 Winners (covers)


The Black Caucus of the American Library Association, Inc. (BCALA) and School Library Journal announced the 2023 Children & Young Adult Literary Awards winners.

Launched in 2021, the awards, which are sponsored by SLJ and honor outstanding children's and YA books by African American authors in four categories: fiction, nonfiction, debut author, and graphic novels. An honor title was named for each category.

Debut Author

Winner: Love Radio by Ebony Ladelle

Honor: Required Reading for the Disenfranchised Freshman by Kristen R. Lee

BCALA sealFiction

Winner: Lotus Bloom & the Afro Revolution by Sherri Winston 

Honor: Unfadeable by Maurice Broaddus


Winner: Star Child by Ibi Zoboi 

Honor: Augusta Savage by Marilyn Nelson

Graphic Novel

Winner: Swim Team by Johnnie Christmas 

Honor: Victory. Stand! by Tommie Smith, Derrick Barnes, & Dawud Anyabwile


BCALA Honor book covers


To be eligible for the 2023 awards cycle, titles must have been published between September 2021 and December 2022.


Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing